I Fool Myself

I fool myself, convince myself that I would have been different
I would have believed, no matter what, I would have never denied Him
I would never have jeered, mocked or spat, not I
I would have been different, I would have stood by Him, I know I would

They must have been mad, after all they’d been through, after all they’d seen
How could you desert Him at His time of greatest need? Not I
Denied Him? I would have been right by His side fighting His cause
I would have been different, I would have stood by Him, I know I would

I would have understood straight away and realised exactly who He was
I would have asked all the right questions and carried out His commands
I would have walked on water. Sink through lack of faith? Not I
I would have been different, I would have stood by Him, I know I would

Father forgive them for they knew not what they did.
Father forgive me that I would have been and am no better
Forgive me for denying you, for deserting you.
Forgive me for not understanding, for not doing as you ask.

Thank you Father for your grace and mercy
Help me always to be humble
Help me not to judge others but to deal with the plank in my own eye
Help me to stand by you, just as you stand by me. Amen

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

