Mothering Sunday

On Mothering Sunday. As many of you did, I had a wonderful mother. However, we all know that that is not always the case. God is often portrayed as the perfect Father, strong, providing, protecting, guiding and so on. Now I know women can fulfil all those roles but my point here is this… we can also look to God for the roles that, traditionally a mother would play. If your mother was less than perfect or if you never knew your mother God can be that perfect mother for you. God is also kind, compassionate, caring, gentle, warm, sensitive and so on. You can berate me for my lack of political-correctness but I hope you see my point – whatever you need God to be for you He is more than adequate.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

